Hokkaido

It is the time of the Shoguns. Your family has provided great service to the Shogun, and as a reward, has been offered the isle of
Hokkaido. But your patriarch’s health is declining, and he has not named a successor. You and your brother(s) must prove who is
worthiest to rule to your family and your Shogun.  Hokkaido is the crossroads for trade in East Asia. The object is to trailblaze (and
hold onto) as many of the lucrative trade routes and territory as possible. Players score points for blazing trade routes during the
game, at the end of the game, and for territories that come under their influence at the end of the game. All players will begin their
adventure in Sapporo with just one piece.

Setup

The number of pieces and trade cards depends upon the number of players:

2 players: 28 pieces each, use 24 trade cards.
3 players: 25 pieces each, use 26 trade cards
4 players: 22 pieces each, use 28 trade cards

Use any mutually agreeable method to choose the player who moves first. Each player chooses a set of pieces in one color. Place
your scoring disk on the scoring track in the zero position. Place 5 random cards from the trade deck face up near the board so all
players can see them. These are the “Public” trade cards. Deal three trade cards face down to each player. These are the “Private”
trade cards. Players should keep these cards hidden in their hand until used. The player to the right of the first player decides
where to place the first piece of their color. It may be placed in any one of the six provinces on Hokkaido that contains a city in it.
Move around the board counterclockwise until all players have placed one of their pieces on Hokkaido. You may not place a piece in
a province that already has another player’s piece placed in it. The last player to place a piece is the first player to take a turn. Play
then proceeds clockwise.

Place all remaining pieces and trade cards aside, they will not be used during the game.

Hokkaido is divided into six regions (each one denoted by a separate color). Within each region are several provinces and one city.
Each city also shares a sea-trade link with three countries outside of Hokkaido (Japan, China, Korea). Pieces will be placed either on
the island of Hokkaido or one of the three boxes representing the countries or the At Sea box.

Components
Board with scoring track, 112 player pieces (28 each color), 4 scoring tokens, 32 Trade Route cards.

Turn Sequence

Players take turns clockwise. Each turn has two phases
A) Take Actions
B) Resolve Conflict

Take Actions -a player must take three actions per turn, in any order and combination desired, except that you cannot perform
the same action three times in the same turn.
1) Land Move — costs one action

2) Sea Move — costs one action

3) Grow — costs one action

4) Claim Public Trade Route — costs one action
5) Draw — costs one or two actions (see Draw)
6) Discard — costs one action

7) Reveal Private Trade Route — costs one action



Land Move

You may move one piece to any adjacent province on Hokkaido for one action. You can leave the original province unoccupied if
desired. If the province you move into has more pieces in it than the population limit (see Population Limits), conflict occurs in the
second phase of your turn, after you have executed all your actions and scored any points. You may move different pieces in the
same turn — you may also move the same piece twice in the same turn. You may not take 3 Land Move actions in the same turn.

Sea Move

For one action you may move one piece located in any Hokkaido province that borders the ocean to the At Sea box, OR you may
move one piece from China, Japan or Korea to the At Sea box, OR you may move any piece already in the At Sea box to any Hokkaido
province that borders the ocean, OR you may move a piece already in the At Sea Box to China, Japan or Korea. You can perform a
Sea Move up to twice per turn. You can perform two Sea Moves on the same piece or two different pieces. You can leave the
original province/country unoccupied if desired. You can perform a Land Move on a piece that just completed a Sea Move and vice
versa. You may not take 3 Sea Move actions in the same turn.

Grow

This action occurs only in provinces on Hokkaido where you already have at least one piece. (Exception: if you have no pieces left on
Hokkaido at the beginning of your turn, you can Grow in Sapporo as your first action, even if you have no pieces there). Add one
piece of your color to that province. A province that already has reached its population limit may grow. (But the excess population
will be removed due to Conflict at the end of the turn unless it is moved out of the province). You may grow in different provinces
in the same turn — you may also grow twice in the same province on your turn. You may not Grow in Japan, Korea, China or At Sea.
You may not take 3 Grow actions in the same turn. Each Grow costs one action.

Claim Public Trade Routes

Within Hokkaido, if you can trace an unbroken path of pieces of your color in each province between the two cities shown on the
trade card (including the starting and ending city in each province) on any of the face-up trade cards in play, then you can claim a
public (face-up) trade route. Your path can include provinces that have more than one player’s color in the same province. In China,
Japan or Korea, if you have a piece in both that country and the city on Hokkaido shown on the trade card, then you can claim a
trade route.

If you are the first player to claim the public trade route, score 2 points immediately. Move your marker on the scoring track. Place
your piece on the higher number on the card (to the left). You will score these points indicated on the card at the end of the game
(not now) if you still control the route.

If you are second player to claim the public trade route, you do not score points immediately. Place your piece on the lower number
on the card (to the right). You will score these points indicated on the card at the end of the game (not now) if you still control the
route.

In a three or four player game, you cannot place your piece on the card if both places are already occupied.

Once your piece is placed on a public trade card, it will remain there for the rest of the game, even if you eventually lose control of
the trade route. The numbers listed on the trade cards are scored at the END of the game, NOT when a player establishes a trade
route between the listed cities during the game. You may only place one piece of your color on a given trade card during the game.
(If you complete the route, then lose the route, then complete it again, you do not put a second piece of your color on the card).
Costs one action.

Reveal Private Trade Route

You may take one trade card from your hand and place it face-up on the table in front of you. Place your piece on the lower
number (on the right) on the card. You must control the route (as described in “Claim Public Trade Route” section) Score these
points immediately. Leave the card face up in front of you for the rest of the game. You will score the same number of points at the
end of the game if you still control a valid trade route between the locations shown on the card. No other player may place their
piece on your “private” card, even if they control a valid trade route between the locations shown on the card. Costs one action.
You may perform this action up to twice per turn.




Draw

There are two options for this action. 1) Draw two cards card from the deck of remaining face-down trade cards. Keep the card of
your choice in your hand and place the other card back on the face down pile of trade cards. Shuffle the remaining face down trade
cards. Costs one action. You may perform this draw action up to twice per turn. |fyou want to keep both trade cards, spend an
additional, second action and keep the second card in your hand. You may take this option only once per turn.

OR 2) draw one card from the face-up public trade routes and place it in your hand (only if there are no player pieces on the trade
card). Costs one action. You may perform this draw action up to twice per turn.

Discard

Take a card from your hand (private trade route) and place it face up on the table in the public trade route section. Costs one
action. You may perform this action up to twice in a turn.

2) Resolve Conflict

In China, Korea, Japan and the At Sea space...

There is never conflict. China, Korea, Japan and the At Sea space have a population limit equal to the number of players in the
game. Only one piece of each player’s color may occupy any country space or the At Sea space at any time. So, in a three player
game, the maximum population of Japan, for example, would be three pieces, one of each player’s color. You cannot Grow in these
countries or At Sea, and if you already have used a Sea Move to put a piece into the country or At Sea, you may not use a Sea Move
to move a second piece in.

On Hokkaido...
On Hokkaido, conflict can occur during the last phase of each player’s turn, after taking all three actions. Conflict arises when the
population limit of a province is exceeded as follows...

In a 2 player game, all provinces have a population limit of one piece. Any province with a city in it has a population limit of two pieces.
In a 3 player game, all provinces have a population limit of two pieces. Any province with a city in it has a population limit of three pieces.
In a 4 player game, all provinces have a population limit of three pieces. Any province with a city in it has a population limit of four pieces.

Check every province where the player has pieces. When the population of a province exceeds the population limit at the END of
the current player’s turn, conflict occurs. Conflict is resolved for all provinces where it occurs at the end of the turn as follows:

The player who has the lowest number of pieces in the province removes one piece. (If there is a tie, then all tied players remove
one piece at the same time.) Then the player with next lowest number of pieces removes, and so on. Pieces are removed until the
remaining population is less than or equal to the limit printed on the board for that province. Note that it is possible to have pieces
from different players in the same province without conflict if the population limit is not exceeded. It is also possible that there may
be no pieces remaining in a province at the end of a player’s turn (e.g. if two different players have one piece each in a province with
a population limit of one, then both pieces are removed at the same time and the province is now empty). Conflict can also occur
due to overpopulation if you are the only player in the province — you must still reduce your population to the stated limit at the end
of the turn.

Pieces removed due to conflict return to the player’s hand, and can be used on future turns.

Game End

The game ends when one player runs out of pieces in their hand (at ANY point in the turn)
OR
There are no trade cards remaining in the face-down draw pile.

Each player then takes one more complete turn (including the player who triggered the end of the game) and then end of game
point scoring is done.



End of Game Scoring

Public trade cards, private trade cards already revealed, and private trade cards still in the player’s hand are scored at the end of
each player’s last turn. Regional scoring is done after all players have finished all their turns, at the end of the game.

Public Trade Card Scoring... (Cards revealed in the public (middle) of the game area)

All PublicTrade Route cards that the current player has a piece on are reviewed....

If the current player still has an unbroken path between the two locations shown on the trade card (including the province with city
in it, or the country outside of Hokkaido), then the current player receives the number of points printed under their piece. If the
player does not control the route, the player receives no points.

Private Trade Card Scoring... (Cards revealed from your hand during the game)

If the player still has an unbroken path between the two locations shown on the trade card (including the province with city in it, or
the country outside of Hokkaido), then the player receives the lower number of points printed on the card. Thus a player can score
for the same trade route twice per game in this case. If the player does not control the trade route, the player receives no points.

Private Trade Card Scoring... (Cards still in your hand at the end of the game)

The current player reveals every trade card that still remains in their hand. If the player has an unbroken path between the two
locations shown on the trade card (including the province with city in it, or the country outside of Hokkaido), the player receives the
higher number of points printed on the card. If the player does not control the trade route, then the higher number of points is
DEDUCTED from their score.

Regional Scoring... (After all players have finished their turns at the end of the game)

The map of Hokkaido is divided into six regions, each denoted by different color. Points are awarded on the basis of which player
dominates in each region. The player who has the most pieces in a region receives 4 points, the player who has the second largest
number of pieces receives 3 points. In a two player game, no player receives points for a tie. In a three or four player game, if two
players are tied, both receive 2 points. If 3 or 4 players are tied, no player receives points.

Winner
The player with the most VPs wins. In the case of ties, the player with FEWER pieces on the board wins. If there is still a tie, the
player with control of the longest (number of provinces) trade route (most direct route with their color) at the end of the game wins.

HokKaido designer: Steve Jones
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